TASL Awards Presented at September Conference

by Brandi Hartsell

The Tennessee Association of School Librarians sponsors a number of annual awards and scholarships. These awards are presented each year during the TASL Conference. We would like to congratulate this year’s winners and thank them for their hard work and dedication to the profession! We would also like to thank Angela Frederick, Awards Committee Chair, and all of the awards committee members for their work to make this happen!

2020 Distinguished School Administrator Honor Roll

Suzanne Anders

The Distinguished School Administrator Honor Roll recognizes supervisors, principals, and superintendents who have shown outstanding support for the library media programs in Tennessee. This year’s recipient is Suzanne Anders from Tazewell-New Tazewell Primary School in Claiborne County Schools.

2020 School Library Media Scholarship

Kathleen B. Smith

This scholarship is for students enrolled in a school library media program at a Tennessee college or university that is approved to certify Library Information Specialists and is meant to increase the ranks of individuals within the school library profession. This year’s winner is Kathleen B. Smith from the University of Tennessee.

2020 Clara Hasbrouk Award

Brenda Moriarty

The Clara Hasbrouck Award is given to a TASL member who has demonstrated dedication and commitment to furthering the cause of school libraries in Tennessee by contributing time, leadership and effort to numerous TASL activities over a period of years. This year’s recipient is Brenda Moriarty.

2020 Innovative Library Media Awards

Tyler Sainato – High School Level
Becky Dodd- Elementary Level

The Innovative Library Award recognizes an innovative library program and comes with a $500 prize. This year’s recipient at the high school level is Tyler Sainato from Cane Ridge High School in Metro Nashville Public Schools. This year’s recipient at the elementary school level is Becky Dodd from Whiteville Elementary School in Hardeman County School District.

2020 Teacher Collaboration Award

The Teacher Collaboration Award recognizes exemplary classroom teachers who collaborate with the school librarian. The winner of this award receives a $500 prize. This year’s recipients alongside Library Media Specialist, Katie Capshaw, include Jessica Alley, Emily Marks, Phillip Stevenson, Denise Cooper, and Ruth-Ann Logsdon from Christiana Middle School in Rutherford County Schools.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: